Tip Of The Day!

25 Mar

5 reasons why oral care matters
Photobucket

Always remember to brush your teeth! Floss! Rinse! It’s always been a good idea to take care of your teeth. Brushing twice a day is good, but it’s always never enough. You should always floss and brush your teeth after each meal, and it is also a good idea to rinse with an anti-bacterial wash, like Scope or Crest.

I have always taken good care of my teeth, maybe not as great as some people. I did always brush (not after each meal though), and I flossed almost whenever I could, and I always (ALWAYS) rinsed my mouth with a Scope mouth wash. I seemed to be doing an excellent job, that is, until last week……..

I was at my dentist’s office getting my regular cleaning / checkup. They took some x-rays, usually my dentist doesn’t say much, but this time he put on the big light, got out the magnifying glass and said, “Andrea, brace yourself.”

Well, immediately I’m thinking something horrible is going to happen. My teeth are falling out? My teeth are killing me? And just about anything… In my 27 years of life my teeth have been healthy, no fillings, no cavities, that is until NOW. I now have two cavities! Right beside each other. OUCH?

They are not painful, heck, I didn’t even know they were there. They are not huge, but they big enough and need to be filled. Needles? Not a fan. (I actually just did a ton of blood work for my allergy tests last week, and that was painful enough). So my attention is naturally focused on oral care.

Here are 5 surprising reasons why oral care matters for a healthy body.

1. Healthy gums for a healthier heart
Studies link oral inflammatory disease and elevated heart disease risk. According to the Canadian Academy of Periodontology, people with periodontal disease are at greater risk of heart disease and have twice the risk of having a fatal heart attack than people without periodontal disease.

Gum disease from extended bacterial exposure can lead to cardiovascular disease as it may increase the inflammation level throughout the body. Inflammation is a major risk factor for heart disease. Your dentist or hygienist should ask you about your heart health and family history of heart disease and conversely, cardiologists should examine your oral health. A problem in one area may signal trouble in the other.

2. A healthy mouth could mean a healthier pregnancy
Regular checkups with a dentist and hygienist become even more important during pregnancy. Health Canada reports there are ongoing studies examining whether pregnant women with poor oral health may be at higher risk of delivering pre-term, low birth weight babies than pregnant women with good oral health.

3. There’s a two-way link between gum disease and diabetes
While it’s known that people with diabetes are more prone to gum disease, surprising new studies suggest that serious gum disease may actually contribute to diabetes as it affects blood glucose control. The Canadian Diabetes Association says, “Because periodontal disease is an infection, bacteria produce toxins that affect the carbohydrate metabolism in individual cells. It is also thought that the host response to periodontal bacteria can increase insulin resistance and, therefore, blood glucose levels.” This two-way link is a wake-up call to take care of your teeth, especially since the incidence of diabetes is rising.

4. Detect oral cancer before you have symptoms
As part of regular checkups, dentists check all soft tissues to ensure they are healthy. Says Dr. Filippi: “all dentists are trained to do a cancer screening as part of ongoing dental checkups, by inspecting the gums, tongue, lips and cheeks for anything suspicious or any unusual changes.”

A precancerous lesion can begin as a small white or dark red patch that may not be causing you any noticeable symptoms. The Canadian Dental Association confirms that your dentist has the expert skill and training that can provide lifesaving early detection. Keep in mind that only about one-half of all patients diagnosed with oral cancer survive more than five years, so detecting early signs of the disease is crucial.

5. Trying to lose weight? Here’s a secret trick.
Brushing your teeth signals you have finished eating and may help with portion control. Use this trick to your advantage – have a healthy meal and then, before you are tempted to overeat or indulge in sweet desserts, go and brush your teeth. This will tell your appetite that mealtime is over.

While brushing cleans your teeth and freshens your breath, not much tastes good right after brushing with minty toothpaste. Don’t wait until bedtime to brush, either; try brushing early in the evening, right after dinner, to thwart late-night snack cravings.

The big thing is “teeth whitening.” Personally I am not a fan of all those strips, and chemicals. I was in the health store and came across this. Mind you, it is a touch expensive (about $6 for a tube). But I won’t lie. It works. It is absolutely fantastic. It works better than the product I even got from my dentist years ago. However, because it’s natural, it is best not to solely use it. I use this every day (or night) and switch it up with regular toothpaste like crest or colgate.
Photobucket

Oral Care Matters from Best Health Mag

3 Responses to “Tip Of The Day!”

  1. Brenda March 25, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    They have toothbrushes that play music and stop when you should stop brushing your teeth. I think I need to pick up one of those 🙂

    • Fit For A Shopaholic March 27, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

      Are they for adults though? I know they have it for kids! It sounds kind of fun, but isn’t it more easier to just play the radio for a song, or turn your ipod on? LOL. You’ll at least save money 😀 Plus, I think if you’re going to invest in an expensive toothbrush it’s best to get one that will get those “hard to reach places!”

  2. Kourtney March 28, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    I really need to start taking better care of my teeth! I should really try out these tips

Leave a Reply

