Reusable Bags

23 Mar

Photobucket

Now that it costs 5 cents per plastic bag, companies are not only trying to save the environment, but they are making their reusable bags stylish, something you’ll want to use in everyday life. Aside from the usual grocery store reusable bags, Indigo and Lululemon are offering the bags as more of an everyday use.

The Lululemon reusable bags come with every purchase from the store (you can’t purchase them). They’re pretty and have motivational quotes and athletic photos on them. They are good for every day use, but I wouldn’t suggest packing it for longterm and with heavy materials. It is pretty sturdy and can hold a bunch of books (as I’ve tested it out), but for travelling (let’s say on the Greyhound or going to a sleepover) I would definitely suggest the Indigo reusable bags.

They are absolutely fantastic! They are the right size (a few inches bigger than a magazine), they stretch a bit in width, and they have the perfect handle length, so carry it as a bag or throw it on your shoulders. The great thing about it is before you would have had to purchase something from Indigo/Chapters to get the bag (and also pay for it, or the 5 cents for the plastic), but now you can just purchase the bag if you don’t find anything to purchase that day. They come in a few colours, orange, red, dark blue, indigo blue, light/dark grey, and green. I have every colour, plus a couple of the small bags (perfect for carrying around my lens and DSLR).

I am ALWAYS using the Indigo bags. They now come in a smaller size for those small books or other products. I’m always using the bags when I travel back and forth from the cottage, I have also taken it on the Greyhound and doesn’t take up much room.

Plus it’s free advertising for the company!

What do you think about reusable bags?

Reusable Bags: Better Bags for a Better Planet

Reusable Bag.ca (CUSTOMIZED)

Is Paper better than Plastic?

8 Responses to “Reusable Bags”

  1. Heather March 23, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    I love reusable bags. I bought really cute ones from old navy that I use to hold to bring our stuff to the gym back and forth in.

    I’m glad that most companies out there now are providing them purchase for customers. There really is no need to use plastic bags when you can spend very few dollars, to buy the reusable ones.

    I need to go to chapters and get some!

    • Fit For A Shopaholic March 24, 2010 at 3:27 am #

      Old Navy has some? Oo! What do they look like? I’m sure cute 🙂

      And the reusable bags last longer than a plastic bag! (aside from being better for the environment).

      I’m so glad places are offering decent reusable bags now – instead of crappy ones!

  2. Macky March 24, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    thumbs up! my wife and I are supporters of the green bag campaign.

  3. Elly March 24, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    Oops, I commented on the wrong entry. Oh well!
    Good luck on your blog.

  4. Alana March 25, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    I love the Lululemon bags. I carry things in them to work ALL the time! They are so practical and fit my shoes, lunch and anything else I need to bring to and from work. Sometimes I even put my purse in it 🙂

    • Fit For A Shopaholic March 26, 2010 at 3:29 am #

      HAHA, Lululemon does offer really awesome reusable bags (And they are smart because in order to get one you need to purchase something from the store).

      But I think they would get more sales if they actually offered them to purchase on their own!

Leave a Reply

