It’s called WHAT?

22 Mar

Photobucket
Have you ever wondered what exactly is in your food? Something as simple as cereal could have ingredients in there you can’t even pronounce. Even fresh fruit and vegetables are sprayed with chemicals.

So unless you live on a farm and eat all your fruits and vegetables, it’s best to be safe and read the ingredients before you pick it up!

I picked up some Pringles from downstairs and looked at the ingredients. Some obvious ones like Dried Potatoes, vegetable oil, rice flour, wheat and seasoning, but then we get the not-so-obvoius ones.

Pringles
Monosodium glutamate, autolyzed yeast, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, maltodextrin, mono and diglycerides.

I don’t know about you, but why is the yeast autolyzed? Is that even a word?

I picked up a bag of Quaker’s Crispy Mini’s. The front says they are “whole grain,” which it does contain. But if you keep reading it also contains: dilicon dioxide, sodium diacetate, dextrose and corn (with germ removed). Why is germ removed, and why is there germ in corn?

It really does make you think. Like most people, I do occasionally like candy, pop, or chips, but it makes me think of the people who eat this stuff all the time and their teeth is rotting or they have health problems.

Last year was sort of enlightening. Every time I would eat my face would go red, it would get itchy, blotchy and have burning sensations. And we couldn’t figure out why. We just assumed it was the cold weather. And then I got the flu, went to the doctor and he prescribed penicillin. Within two days my face felt like it was peeling off, it was harsh red blotchy areas around my face. Went to the doctors, and I was immediately sent to an allergist (which was probably the best thing to happen). Not only was I allergic to penicillin, but I also tested positive for Preservatives (you know, additives which is in just about every food you can imagine – even bread!) and dairy (which just SUCKS for me, because I am a HUUUUUGE milk and cheese fan).

My family has always been cautious about ingredients in food, we’ve been organic for a few years now. But because of this sudden allergy to preservatives, it really made me stop and look at the food I was eating. Just eating a pickle sent about 15 ingredients in my body (and probably 11 of those I couldn’t pronounce).

Preservatives

More information about Preservatives

Ways to go Organic

Food Ingredients

Food Navigator

8 Responses to “It’s called WHAT?”

  1. Alex March 22, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    Always go organic! Yes it’s more expensive, but I find it better for the body than putting in god-knows-what!

    • Fit For A Shopaholic March 23, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

      I do agree, organic is expensive, not so much the fruit (well that is slightly), but for things like chicken and meat. I remember paying $15 for chicken when everyone else was paying about $5-7!

      I agree though, organic all the way!

  2. Stacey March 23, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    You would be surprised at how many products have MSG! If I didn’t google what MSG was I would never know that it’s actual word is Monosodium glutamate. It’s also the same with hair products. You would never want to google what your washing your hair with or the products you’re putting in your hair.

    So sorry to hear about your face. That is just awful! I can’t believe something like allergies would cause such a horrible reaction. Goodluck 🙂

    • Fit For A Shopaholic March 23, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

      I’ve heard about MSG, especially in chinese food! I don’t understand, if it’s so bad for you, then why is it in food?????

  3. Mandy March 23, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    I’m a celiac so I’m on a gluten free diet. I hate having to be so aware of what I put in my mouth, but I’d rather be aware than eat POTATO chips with wheat and corn in them.

    • Fit For A Shopaholic March 24, 2010 at 5:21 am #

      Isn’t that scary though? 😦 If you were to let’s say eat a a bag of chips (that are not gluten free), do you just get really sick, or would you have to be hospitalized? It’s so scary with my dad (he’s diabetic), and even though we’re always careful and so is he.. it’s just scary because that one thing he eats…. :\

      It’s really awesome though that there are tonssss of gluten free products out there. 🙂

  4. Elly March 24, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    I find the only thing I look at are the calories and the Magnesium/B6/B12 amounts.

Leave a Reply

