Don’t Forget Your Vitamins!

17 Mar

Photobucket

In only the past few years have I really began to understand vitamins and natural herbs for healing. For example, cinnamon is one of the best (if not the best) for maintaing your sugar levels (especially for diabetics). I usually sprinkle some on a cut-up apple, or even put some in my coffee (I haven’t tried it in tea, not sure how that would work), but in coffee it’s excellent.

Vitamin C is excellent for you. It is also known as ascorbic acid. Ascorbic acid is an antioxidant which helps in protecting the body against pollutants. Ascorbic acid helps in promoting healthy cell development, normal tissue growth and repair such as healing injuries and burns, and helps in absorption of calcium.

I usually take about 1,000 MG a day. However, I was first taking the Jamieson Vitamin C tablets, and found them too acidic for my stomach. It was almost like heartburn. You just have to be careful that because of the acidic in the Vitamin C, it can sometimes be too much for a person. So that is why I have started taking the SISU Vitamin C pills – which have no acidity.

Photobucket

I also take one tablet, 1,000 Units a day of Vitamin D. Also known as the “sunshine vitamin.” Vitamin D has anti-inflammatory properties which helps with the slowing down of alzheimer’s and certain cancers.

I have also purchased THE VITAMIN D CURE by James Dowd, which is an excellent read about Vitamin D.

For more on Vitamin D:
Vitamin D Society

Benefits of Vitamin C

5 Responses to “Don’t Forget Your Vitamins!”

  1. Brenda March 17, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    Vitamin A and Iron is also good for you!

    • Fit For A Shopaholic March 23, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

      I do take iron pills as well! I’m slightly anemic, so I started taking them last year for it. What brand of A do you take?

  2. Lutein Vitamins March 17, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Lutein can be found in green vegetables but for comfort you can just take multivitamin pills that contain it .

  3. Heather March 17, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    I never used vitamins either until the last few years.

    I too had problems with the Vitamin C ones, so I use a women’s all in one now.

    Good Read! šŸ™‚

    • Fit For A Shopaholic March 23, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

      I’ve been thinking of that women’s all in one, but then I think maybe because everyone needs a different dosage? So i usually just take one of each, LOL.

      Ugh, the vitamin c was awful!

Leave a Reply

